Peter Waugh (UK)

2020年03月15日

Peter Waugh(UK)


I Write, Therefore I Am


I write because I write

I write because it's a quick fix

I write because I must

I write because I seek an answer

I write because I love to eat fish

I write because my father said: 'Don't!'

I write because I die

I write because of the history of poetry

I write because I can't stop

I write because it's what I do

I write because I wrote

I write because the sentence has not yet come to an end

I write because it's always a beautiful day but YOU can't see it

I write because I was a paper boy in '68

I write because my eyesight was too bad for me to be a Fleet Air Arm pilot

I write because I couldn't give it up

I write because it is my longest-serving friend

I write because all things are transient

I write because my father never listened to me

I write because my mother always listened to me

I write because I want to preserve the present as the past

I write because I am a camera

I write because it is an adventure

I write because I am a perfectionist, the world is imperfect

and poetry is an approach to perfection

I write because the road of a thousand pages begins with a single letter

I write because of the Beats

I write because of the Mersey Poets

I write because they came to our school to give poetry readings

I write because it was something different to do

I write because nobody else did

I write because it was a dare

I write because it always gives you something to do when you're waiting

I write because I wanted to rebel

I write because I read Ariel in the school library and then stole it

I write because my life's development stopped at puberty

and I have tried to remain a teenager

I write because it's a cheap hobby

I write because cannabis and LSD opened my mind to the secrets colours of Otherland

I write because I read an purple-covered anthology by Geoffrey Grigson

with poems by Ginsberg, Ferlinghetti, Corso, Popa,

Adrian Henri, Rimbaud, Apollinaire, Baudelaire

and it blew my mind

I write because it's fun

I write because I can write

I write because I can't write

I write because it's Sisyphus work and I'm a masochist

I write because it's easy I do it off the cuff and I'm lazy

I write because I dream of being rich and famous

I write because I'm bored

I write because I love YOU

I write because I can't express myself in any other way

I write because it opens my eyes, my ears, my heart, my mind

I write because I don't know why I write

I write because I want to wrote just one great poem

I write because I don't understand life

I write because I'm afraid of death

I write because I want to escape

I write because it's a habit

I write because I used to make comic strip books when I was a kid

- my masterpiece was called Drago the Gunslinger

I write because it's a way to create and keep secrets

I write because it tells me new things

I write because poetry is a mirror

I write because others have before me

I write because I believe the world needs to be changed and I can't do it

I write because I hate 1st world capitalist imperialism

I write because there is no scientific formula for the sound of the rain

I write because I believe in magic

I write because I grew up with the Beatles, the Stones and Bob Dylan

and was captivated by the spirit of their songs

I write because a voice inside talks to me when my mind is silent

I write because it is an act of self-affirmation

and I like breathing rarefied mountain air

in long deep breaths

I write because the poem is a journey and I am a traveller

I write because it opens windows and doors

I write because it's a sexual act

I write because I don't have any children other than hundreds of poems

I write because I'm addicted to poetry and I don't want to kick the habit

I write because I can't play any other musical instrument

I write because it's a way to explore myself

I write because I love to lie with truth

I write because I'm a gatherer

I write because I follow the Great Spirit

I write because it used to get me girls

I write because it sets me free

I write because I'm a Houdini

I write because it relieves the sadness

I write because it heightens happiness

I write because I am obsessed by writing

I write because I can't think of anything else to do

I write because it lets off steam

I write because it makes me feel like God

I write because it gives me a place to hide

I write because I am timid as a deer

I write because I am fearless as a lion

©Peter Waugh

Vienna, 29.11.02


我は書く、ゆえに我なり

                                               ピーター・ウォー

我は 書くゆえに書く

我は 素早く留めるゆえに書く

我は 書かねばならぬゆえに書く

我は 答えを探すがゆえに書く

我は 魚を好んで食すゆえに書く

我は 父が「書くな」と封じたゆえに書く

我は 自分が死ぬゆえに書く

我は 詩史のために書く

我は 止められぬゆえに書く

我は 為事ゆえに書く

我は 書いたゆえに書く

我は 文がまだ書ききれぬゆえに書く

我は キミがこの好き日を知らぬゆえに書く

我は 1968年軽薄男子なりしゆえに書く

我は 近視で空軍パイロットになれなかったゆえに書く

我は まだ諦められぬゆえに書く

我は もっとも長く付き合う友ゆえ書く

我は すべてが無常ゆえに書く

我は 父が二度と耳を貸さぬゆえに書く

我は 現在を過去のように留めたいゆえに書く

我は カメラなり ゆえに書く

我は 冒険ゆえに書く

我は 完全主義者ゆえ、世界が不完全ゆえ、

        そして詩が完全に近づけるゆえ書く

我は 千里の頁も一文字から始まるゆえに書く

我は 拍動のため書く

我は(リバプール)マーセィ詩人のために書く

我は 彼らが吾が校まで朗読しに来てくれたゆえに書く

我は それが為すことと違うゆえに書く

我は 誰もほかに為さなかったゆえに書く

我は それが挑戦だったゆえに書く

我は きみが待っているときいつも何かを呉れたゆえに書く

我は レコードがほしかったゆえに書く

我は 学校図書館のアリエルを読みくすねたゆえに書く

我は 人生の思春期のまま止まり

        十代のままを保とうとしたゆえに書く

我は 安っぽい趣味ゆえに書く

我は 大麻やLSDが他国の秘めたる色へ心を開いたゆえに書く

我は ジェフリー・グリグソンの紫色のアンソロジーに

        ギンズバーグ、フェリエッティ、コルソ、ポパ

        アドリアン・ヘンリ、ランボー、アポリネール、ボードレールの詩を読み

        心をかき鳴らしたゆえに書く

我は 面白いから書く

我は 書けるから書く

我は 書けないから書く

我は それがシシュポスの仕事でマゾヒストなるがゆえに書く

我は 手錠にかけられているわけでなく気楽で怠け者なるがゆえに書く

我は 富者かつ名声を夢見るゆえに書く

我は 退屈なるがゆえに書く

我は キミを愛するがゆえに書く

我は ほかに表現しようがないゆえに書く

我は目を耳を心を頭を開くゆえに書く

我は なぜ書くのか分からないゆえに書く

我は たったひとつの偉大な詩を書きたかったゆえに書く

我は 人生が腑に落ちないから核

我は 逃避したいゆえに書く

我は 習慣ゆえに書く

我は 子供のころ漫画をよく描き

      ―代表作は殺し屋ドラゴと呼ばれた―ゆえに書く

我は それが想像の方法で秘密を守るゆえに書く

我は それが我に新しいことを語るゆえに書く

我は 詩が鏡なるがゆえに書く

我は 他者が我より先に手にしたゆえに書く

我は 世界は変革されるべきと信じ我出来ぬゆえに書く

我は なにより世界資本主義帝国主義を憎むゆえに書く

我が 雨の音に公式がないゆえに書く

我は 魔術を信ずるゆえに書く

我は ビートルズ、ストーンズ、ボブディランで育ち

       その歌の精神に魅せられたゆえに書く

我は 心静かなるとき内なる声語るゆえに書く

我は それが自己肯定であり

       希薄な山の空気を呼吸するを

       深く吸うを好むがゆえに書く

我は 詩は旅であり我は旅人であるがゆえに書く

我は それが窓を扉を開けるゆえに書く

我は それがセクシュアルな営みであるがゆえに書く

我は 子がなくとも何百もの詩を持つゆえに書く

我は 詩依存症であり習慣を断ちたいがゆえに書く

我は 楽器が弾けないゆえに書く

我は 自己を探索するがゆえに書く

我は 真理をもって嘘つくことを愛すがゆえに書く

我は 採集民であるがゆえに書く

我は 偉大な精神に従うゆえに書く

我は それでナンパできていたゆえに書く

我は それが自由を与えるゆえに書く

我は 縄抜け名人であるゆえに書く

我は 悲しみを和らげるゆえに書く

我は それが幸せを高揚させるがゆえに書く

我は 書き物に憑かれているがゆえに書く

我は ほかにすることがないゆえに書く

我は それが蒸気ではがすゆえに書く

我は 神のように感ずるゆえに書く

我は それが隠れ処を呉れるゆえに書く

我は おとなしい鹿ゆえ書く

我は ライオンのように恐れを知らぬゆえに書く

©Peter Waugh

Vienna, 29.11.02

             Translated by Mariko Sumikura   ©Mariko Sumikura

Kyoto, 01.10.13

Peter Waugh (UK)

Born in London (1956). Long-term Vienna resident. Poet, translator, creative writing lecturer at University of Applied Arts, editor, publisher, songwriter. Co-founder of Labyrinth (Association of English-Language Poets in Vienna), the poetry journal subdream. and the experimental poetry group 'dastrugistenda'. Organiser of many readings in Austria and abroad, including monthly open-mic at Café Kafka, Poetry in the Park and the höflein donauweiten poesiefestival. Often performs as a sound poet and with musicians. Publications: Horizon Firelight and Haiku Butterfly Death Dream. Featured in magazines, anthologies and websites worldwide. CD: 'Snake Box'. Numerous German-English verse translations.

ピーター ウォー (イギリス)

ロンドン生まれ(1956)ウイーン在住。詩人、翻訳家、大学講義(文芸創作)、編集者、作詞家、(ウィーン英詩協会Labyrihtの共同創設者)および詩誌Subdream、実験詩グループ 'dastrugistenda'主宰。毎月のカフェ・カフカでのオープンマイク、Poetry in the Park、 höflein donauweiten poesiefestivalを含むオーストリア等詩祭のオーガナイザー。たびたび音楽家とコラボを行う。著作Horizon Firelight and Haiku Butterfly Death Dream. 雑誌、アンソロジー、ウェブで世界中に発表。CD: 'Snake Box'. ドイツ語ー英語の翻訳詩文は多数。.

Translator

Mariko Sumikura (Japan)

Poet, essayist, translator. Born in Kyoto (1952), Graduated from Ristumeikan University. Representative of Japan Universal Poets Association, Chief-in-editors of online international journal "Poetic-Bridge: Ama-Hashi".

Main publication: "Kokoro Kaoru Hito"," Yume Tsumugu Hito"," Hikari Oru Hito", "Ai Matou Hito"," Tsuchi daku Masurao".(Chikurinkan) She was invited to several international poetry readings such as the 49th Struga Poetry Readings in 2011, Jan Smrek International Literary Festival in 2012. "Europa in Versi"(Como, Italy) in 2015. Mihai Eminesuc International Poetry Festival (Craiova, Romania) in 2015.

Translation: Contemporary Poetry in-out of Japan, JUNPA BOOKS Series,

Award: "Mina wo Tonaete" ("Uttering Her Name" by Gabriel Rosenstock) won the Translated Irish Literature Award by Ireland Literature Exchange in 2012. The first prize at the festival Pannonian Galeb festival for poetry book translated in Serbian in 2017. Milos Crnjanski Prize in International Literature Festival-Wien 2017, Naji Naaman Literary Prize (Honour) 2018


すみくらまりこ(日本)

詩人、エッセイスト、翻訳家。1952年京都生れ。立命館大学文学部卒業。日本国際詩人協会代表。国際詩誌「詩の架け橋:天橋」編集主幹。翻訳: 国内外の現代詩人作品を翻訳。JUNPA BOOKS シリーズを手がける。『御名を唱えて』(原著 Gabriel Rosenstockの"Uttering Her Name")は2012年アイルランド文学交流協会より翻訳出版賞を受賞。『弾丸シュート』(原著Odveig Klyve の"Bullistic"は2019年ノルウェー文学普及協会(NORLA)より翻訳助成を下付される。

主な著書:『心薫る女』『夢紡ぐ女』『光織る女』『愛装ふ女』『地抱く男』(いずれも竹林館)2010年第49回ストルーガ詩祭(ストルーガ、マケドニア)、2011年ヤン・スムレク国際文学祭(ブラティスラヴァ。スロバキア)、2015年コモ詩祭―Europa in Versi―(コモ、イタリア)、2015年ミハイ・エミネスク国際詩祭(クラヨバ、ルーマニア)、2019年プリマ・ヴィスタ国際文学祭に招待参加。

受賞歴:2017年セルビア、パンノニアン・ゲレブ詩祭出版賞を受賞。2018年オーストリア・ウィーン国際文学祭ミロシュ・ツルニャンスキー賞、ナジ・ナーマン文学賞(名誉賞)他受賞。