Pia Tafdrup (Denmark)

2020年03月07日

響き合う東西詩人:詩的対話「雪の二重奏」ピーア・タフドロプ&下田喜久美

Western-Eastern Poets in Sympathy: Poetic Dialogue "Duet of Snow"  Pia Tafdrup & Kikumi Shimoda    ムービー(Movie) 

Duet of Snow 雪の二重奏


Ark

      Pia Tafdrup

I was writing a long and labyrinthine poem in which I opened up

and at the same time stepped into that openness, stillness, with a white voice

as word after word drank from its stream, and the further the poem extended

the more difficult it became, its syntax gradually transforming underway

according to mathematical principles no one had ever revealed to me,

but the words' reciprocal contacts reminded me of leaves that the wind

has caused to sing in the air, and this meant that the poem must be written

in a single unbroken chain if its meaning was to hold, its language kept tightening

in constantly new patterns, in which certain words demanded ritual repetition

in such a way that both a male and a female began to appear in the surrounding lines,

one male and one female, until a great many species had arrived in the poem,

where they demanded their place, even though it was practically impossible

to accommodate them in the stringent system that was virtually constructing itself

when a friend my own age showed up one day before my desk of gopher wood

and asked about my next book, astonished at finding the room full of animals

and me so young, just as I was amazed to see his hair

in a white wreath around his head, a frosty crown of age,

and while we exchanged smiles and spoke the language of truth, as we had always done,

the animals continued to sneak in through a window behind me, two by two,

so without my being aware of it, my study

had begun to resemble a zoo - I had just kept writing the poem

and hadn't noticed birds of all kinds, cattle, wild game and vermin,

because my desk with its many drawers

was raised high on a ledge, almost a platform, in the vaulted room,

but there were in fact a myriad of animals that had found their way there

and had come in pair by pair, male and female animals that I knew quite well

but other species too had arrived as I wrote

and together we began to capture these animals, especially drawn by a type of yellow frog

whose croaking must have given the poem its tonal modulations,

but each time we tried to get hold of one, it evaded us

and I became aware that I had developed a certain aversion

and didn't like the idea of touching all the animals that were streaming in

through the open window and down the wall out across the floor

where they continued their wandering in long files up toward the platform with the desk

animals I had been fond of in my childhood now suddenly made me insecure,

I was unsure of their characteristics, shapes and precise relations to one another,

I didn't recognize their ways of reacting, couldn't recall if they bit or stung,

secreted a dangerous poison or were just harmless creatures, but my friend

was fond of them all, both the slimy and the scaly ones, handled them and moved them around

so they wouldn't hurt one another, some he set atop the desk

as a sort of unformulated commentary on the poem, which after all wasn't finished

and at once I was afraid that its structure would be crackled

if I didn't take it further right away, so I returned to my seat

but at that moment the water outside began to rise, and the animals clambered pair by pair

up onto the platform and from there up onto my desk, where I labored

to put the higher mathematics into speech by continually deciding what should go into this poem

and what should come out, while the water rose all around

so even the highest peak under the heavens was underwater,

the animals were still alive, but the chaos was growing great upon my desk,

where some species were biting each other's heads off, while some by contrast

started to mate, and when nature thus before my eyes

repeated itself in an endless number of each species, as well as an unlimited number

of unforeseen variants, and moreover developed a whole series of new races

that I had no names for, the result was soon an abundance

of irrational proportions that further complicated the poem

as did the noise from the many species, roars mixing with chirping,

humming with snorts, whinnies with bleating, howls with weak hissing, but the worst affliction

was the yellow frogs, which sounded now like cicadas and now like rattlesnakes,

and whether the animals were growling for food or in chorus awaiting the conclusion of my poem

was impossible to tell, because I was preoccupied by intensifying pains in my right arm

and I would have hated to close the poem now, when it was changing at so fast a tempo

that it made me realize mathematics probably didn't have

much to learn from me and my longing for infinity:

I wrote from sea to sea, but there wasn't room for all the animals,

I understood that it was limitation that was endless,

my right arm stiffened so I could work only slowly and with difficulty,

the poem was to form a knot that no one unversed could untie

but at the right tug on the sentence threads, with one shoulder toward the sky,

it nonetheless came loose with ease, only to reveal

that in the world of the spirit there is no completed entity,

and just then I noticed that the water had penetrated the whitewashed room

but the animals were safe on the desk under the vaulted ceiling

and the water hadn't reached the ark, where everything wasn't quite gathered yet

but I had gotten far enough along so I could speak with my friend and say

how happy I was that he'd found me in the midst of the enigmatic notations

that would lead to this poem, which still wasn't very legible

because of the many corrections I'd made underway and was hard to keep in order

since I was continually making revisions until after a time,

at the sound of a bird's cooing call outside the window, I looked up

and saw that the water had retreated , that the light no longer merely seeped in

but was here - it filled the room, and only then did I decide unequivocally

not to include anything more, but to concentrate on the multitude

I had taken onto my ark, relieved that the paper wasn't the least wet,

as if during the ceremony it had lain protected in a small chest,

I saw a bow in the clouds and laid aside my fountain pen,

I hadn't eaten or slept or gone to the toilet while I'd written,

hadn't seen a single person, but now someone was addressing me again, and I felt I must respond,

everything occurs as it occurs, and my friend, sitting before me, marveled

that my dress remained freshly pressed and white.

                                                                     Translation by David McDuff


箱舟

       ピーア・タフドロプ

わたしは長い迷宮のような詩を書いていた わたしを開くと同時に

自分もその開かれた静かな場へ足を踏み入れた 白い声で

いっぽう言葉は一つまた一つ流れる水を飲んだ 広がるにつれて

詩は

ますます難しくなり シンタクスは途中で少しずつ変わった

数学原理にしたがって だれもわたしに教えてくれたことのない

でも言葉のお互いのふれあいはわたしに葉っぱを思わせた

風に吹かれ

っぱは空中で歌う つまり 詩を書くときも同じ

ひとつながりの鎖で書かなくては 意味がしっかり保たれるように 言葉は

凝縮した

つねに新しい形へと ある言葉は繰り返されることを求めた

儀式的に

雄と雌のどちらも列をなし登場し始めた

あたりに

雄と雌 いろいろな種類の動物が出てきた

詩のなかに

場所がほしいと要求した ほとんど不可能であったけれど

窮屈な構造に適合するのは 自ずとできあがったような仕組み

同い年の友がある日わたしの机のまえに立った

ゴフェルの木(いとすぎの木)の机

わたしの次の本についてたずねた 場所がいっぱいであることに驚いて

動物たちと

とても若いわたしで わたしも彼の髪の毛を見てふしぎに思った

頭に白い冠が載っているよう 年寄りの霜の冠

ほほえみを交わし本当のことを話した いつもそうしてきたように

動物たちはなおも忍びこんできた わたしの後ろの窓から ふたり一組で 

考えもせぬまま わたしの仕事部屋は

動物園に似てきた 詩を書いていただけなのに

いろいろな種類の鳥 家畜 野生の動物 爬虫類に気づかなかった

それはただ ひきだしの多いわたしの机が

高いところにあったから たなに乗って 丸天井の空間にある台のよう

でも確かに無数の動物が 道を見つけ

つがいでやってきた 雄と雌 わたしもよく知っている

でもほかの種類のものも到着した わたしが書いているあいだに

わたしたちは一緒にこれらの動物をつかまえ始めた とくに魅せられたのはある種の

黄色いカエル

その鳴き声は詩に抑揚の響きを与えるにちがいない

でもつかまえようとするたびに カエルはわたしたちを逃れ

わたしは気づいた わたしは少し臆病になっており

なかには触れたくたない動物もいるということに 流れ込んでくる動物たち

大きく開いた窓から 壁をつたって 床の上を

長い列になって歩み続けた 机の乗った台に向かって

子どものころ好きだった動物 とつぜんわたしは不安を感じた

その性質 形 厳密な相互の関係が

わたしは不確かな気持ちにさせた

彼らの反応パターンがわからない 噛む動物か刺す動物か思い出せなかった

危険な毒を取り出したのか それともただ無害な存在なのか でもわたしの友は

すべてを握った ぬるぬるしたものも うろこのあるものも しっかりつかんで

振り回した

お互いに裏切らないように 彼はあるものを机の上においた

詩への一種のことばによらないコメントとして まだ詩は終わっていないのに

わたしはすぐに恐れた 構造が崩れるのではないかと

もしわたしがすぐに続けなければ それでわたしの場所にもどった

でもその瞬間 外の水面が上がり始め 動物たちは

つがいで登ってきた

みな台の上へと さらにわたしの机の上へと 仕事中のわたしは

高等な数学と会話していた たえず決定しながら

この詩に何が入り 何が出ていくかを いっぽうでまわりの水面は高まっていた

空の下でいちばん高い山でさえ水面に沈んだ

動物たちはまだ生きていた だがカオスがどんどん大きくなっていった

机の上では

ある種の動物は互いに首をくいちぎった またあるものは

互いに交尾を始めた こうして自然が

わたしの目の前で

無限な数の種類となって繰り返し 無制限な数の

予想しなかった変化となったとき さらにいくつもの新種が生まれた

名前もわたしはもっていなかった その結果たちまち

不合理な存在があふれ それがさらに詩を複雑にした

いろいろな動物たちの出す音も複雑になった ほえ声とさえずりが交じり合い

うなり声と鼻息が いななきと鳴き声 どなり声とささやき声 でも

とくに悩ませられたのは

黄色いカエル セミのように鳴いたり 蛇のようにカラカラ音をたてたり

動物たちが食べ物を求めているのか わたしの詩が終わるのをみんなで待っているのか

それは判断できない わたしはどんどん痛くなる右腕に気をとられていたので

わたしは今詩を終えたくなかった あまりに速いテンポで変わっていた

わたしはわかった 数学はどうも教えてくれそうにない

わたしについて わたしの無限へのあこがれについて:

わたしはあふれるように書いた でも動物をすべて入れるだけの場所はなかった

わたしは気づいた 限界があることに 果てしがない

わたしの右腕は硬直した もうゆっくりと苦労しながら仕事をするだけだ

はこぶを作る 知らない人にはほどきようがない

でも文の結び目を正しく引けば。空に向いた肩は

かんたんにほどけ 明らかにする

精神の世界には閉じられた単位などないことに

わたしは気づいた 水がしっくい塗りの部屋に侵入してきたことに

でも動物たちは救われて机の上にいた 丸天井の下に

水は箱舟の紙までは届かなかった すべてが一緒に来ていたわけではない

でもわたしもたどりつけた 友と話せるところまでは

うれしかった 謎めいたメモのただなかでわたしを見つけてくれたことが

メモはこの詩へとつながる まだ読める詩になっていない

途中でたくさん直したためまとめにくいから

まだまだわたしは訂正している やがて

窓の外の 鳥の呼び声で わたしが顔を上げ

水が引いたことに気づくまで 光がもはやしみこんでくるだけではなく

それはここだった - あふれかえった空間 そのときようやくはっきりと決心した

材料を増やすのではなく 集中しようということに

わたしの箱舟に取りこんだ雑多なものに ほっとした 紙が少しもぬれていない

儀式のあいだずっと 小さな箱にかくされていたのだ

空に虹が見えた 最後に万年筆を置いた

わたしは食べていなかった トイレにも行っていない 眠りもしなかった

書いていたあいだ

人にも会わず でも今わたしはふたたび声をかけられ答えなくてはならなかった

責任ある答を

すべてが起こるべくして起こる そして わたしの目の前にすわっていた友は

ふしぎがる

わたしのドレスがまだアイロンをかけたばかりで白いことに 

       福井 信子訳 ARK    Translation by Nobuko Fukui


Pia Tafdrup

Pia Tafdrup, www.tafdrup.com, was born on 29 May 1952 in Copenhagen. She made her literary debut in 1981 and has till now published 17 collections of poetry: When an Angel Breaks her Silence, 1981; No Hold, 1982; The Innermost Zone, 1983; Spring Tide, 1985 (Eng. 1989); White Fever, 1986; The Bridge of Moments, 1988; The Crystal Forest, 1992; Territorial Song. A Jerusalem Cycle, 1994; Queen's Gate, 1998 (Eng. 2001); Thousand Born 1999; The Salamander Quartet: The Whales in Paris, 2002 (Eng. in Tarkovsky's Horses 2010); Tarkovsky's Horses, 2006 (Eng. Tarkovsky's Horses & Other Poems 2010), Boomerang, 2008 and Birds of Compass. Poems. Gyldendal 2010 (Eng. Salamander Sun & Other Poems 2015), Salamander Sun 2012(Eng. Salamander Sun & Other Poems 2015).

Latest: The Taste of Steel 2014 and The Taste of Snow 2016. Furthermore she has published a statement of her poetics, Walking over the Water, 1991 about her poetic method and Jump Across The Shadow. Selected Poems 1981-2006, 2007. Pia Tafdrup has written two novels, Surrender, 2004 and Star Without Land, 2008, two plays, Death in the Mountains, 1988, also produced for radio, The Earth Is Blue, 1991 and a libretto to a dance, The Town of Viso, 1999 and she has edited two anthologies of contemporary Danish poetry, Constellations - an Anthology of Danish Poems, 1982 The Salamander Quartet consists of: The Whales in Paris,and Transformations. Poetry 1980-1985, 1985.

A portraitfilm, Thousand Born was made by Caecilia Holbek Trier for Cosmo Film a/s in 2003. (DVD Tusindfoedt. Portraetfilm

Tafdrup GB. Caecilia Holbek Trier. ISBN 8702041340. 2005)

official website is here.

ピーア・タフドロプ(デンマーク)は1952年5月29日、コペンハーゲンに生まれる。文学デビューは1981年で現在まで詩集17冊上梓している。1981年『When an Angel Breaks her Silence』

1982年『No Hold』

1983年『The Innermost Zone』

1985年『Spring Tide』

1986年『White Fever』

1988年『The Bridge of Moments』

1992年『The Crystal Forest』

1994年『Territorial Song』『A Jerusalem Cycle』

1998年『Queen's Gate』

1999年『Thousand Born』

2002年『The Salamander Quartet: The Whales in Paris』

2006年『Tarkovsky's Horses』

2008年『Boomerang』

2010年『Birds of Compass. Poems. Gyldendal』

2012年『Salamander Sun』

2014年『The Taste of Steel』

2016年『The Taste of Snow』

その他詩論

2016年『Walking over the Water』

詩選集

2007

小説、戯曲も執筆。デンマーク詩人全集の編集者。

公式ウェブサイトはここをクリックしてください。

Translator

David McDuff (UK)

David McDuff (born 1945) is a British translator, editor and literary critic. His translations of Pia Tafdrup's poetry include Queen's Gate, Tarkovsky's Horses and Other Poems, and Salamander Sun, all published by Bloodaxe Books in the UK.

デビッド・マクダッフ(イギリス)

1945年生まれ、英国の翻訳家、編集者、文芸批評家。ピーア・タフドロプの『Queen's Gate(女王の門)』、タルコフスキーの馬と詩、『Salamander Sun』などイギリスのBloodsxeより出版されたものを含んでいる。

Translator

Nobuko Fukui (Japan)

Translator. Born in Hokkaido (1954), Graduated from Tokyo University. Professor at the Department of Nordic Studies, Tokai University.

Coeditor of Danish-Japanese Dictionary published in 2011.

Translated Nordic folktales and H.C.Andersen's fairy tales.

福井信子(日本)

翻訳家。1954年北海道生まれ。東京大学卒業。東海大学文学部北欧学科教授。

主な著書:『現代デンマーク語辞典』(共編、大学書林、2011)。

翻訳:『子どもに語る北欧の昔話』(共訳、こぐま社、2001)、『本当に読みたかったアンデルセン童話』(共訳、NTT出版、2005)。