Ming Di (China)

2020年03月07日

The Book of Seven Lives

                                         Ming Di


I'm too close to the sun, and they say I'll go blind.
So I appear in many movies as an old man,
endless gray hair and beard, eyes like hollows, mouthing prophesies:
Apollo is born today, tomorrow a stone
will be declared the Sun. I also appear in many poems,
occasionally glamorous, mostly worse than a witch
(today my breasts age, tomorrow my breasts wrinkle).
So I put on a firm smile and walk the road in a bucket skirt.
Only Virginia Woolf sees me, the me that codes words,
the me that loves straight, wholly, readily believing in love,

and can write right, not for name, not for fame, just write right,
and can change overnight .... Oh, no, no, no, not again,
so wonderful to stay in this life! Zeus gave me seven lives,
but nothing is better than this life, this life of tiger or wolf.
I fear sleep, fear waking up with an old face wearing
T.S. Eliot's grimace, my body dusted with his cigarette ash.

Translated by Tony Barnstone and Ming Di 

七つの命の本

                                     明 迪 

太陽から近すぎて 私は失明すると皆が言う

だから私はたくさんの映画の中にいて 全部老人の姿となり

長い髭と灰色の髪 虚ろな目 賢者の口振りで

預言しよう 今日アポロが生まれたと 明日には石

予言は太陽のため 私はまた多くの詩の中で顕れる

時には魅力的 多くの場合は巫女どころではない

今日「私の乳房は年老いた」 明日は「私の乳房には皺が寄った」

だから私は頑なに笑う表情 水桶のスカ-トを穿いて道路の上

ただヴァージニア・ウルフの大慧眼あるのみ 

見抜いてくれる 私もまた字を書くことが出来ると

愛することが出来ると 人とは一寸違って 心を傾けて 嘘偽りなく

詩が書けると 無欲 無名のままで 

一夜の間に亡骸・・・二度と戻っては来ない夢

この一生を生きていることはなんと素晴らしいこと!

ゼウスは私に七つの命をくれた

人生の変転はあっても やがて吉に転じ 

この夢ほど悪くはない

眠り続けていても 一度目覚めれば悪夢は去る

T.S.エリオットのしかめ面を見れば 

煙草の灰が私の上に震え落ちる

(水崎野里子訳・中国語原詩より)

Translated by Noriko Mizusaki; from Chinese original

Poetry East West is here.


ミン・ディ(ミンディ)、未来を期待される中国詩人。アメリカで二十年間暮らしているが最近中国で評価を得る。ボストンで教育を受けた。ボストン大学で中国語を教えたのちカリフォルニアに移住。六冊の詩集と三冊の翻訳書で名声を確立。マケドアニアのストルーガ詩祭などいくつかの国際詩祭に招聘された。現在では二つの国で暮らしつつ「東西ポエトリ」という中国語と英語二カ国語での新しい詩誌の編集に携わる。